Q: What’s more stressful than an impending eye appointment? …

… A: An impending eye appointment being cancelled at the last minute.

Okay, so it wasn’t cancelled quite at the last minute; I got the ‘phone call from Moorfields just before 5pm on Friday rather than on Monday morning.  The appointment should have been 10:15 on Monday morning, so things could have been worse.  In fact, as some people are fond of telling me, things could always be worse.  Obviously, I’m also well aware of the fact that there are many things far more stressful than having an appointment cancelled at the last minute.  Surgery cancelled at the last minute, for example.  Or just surgery, full-stop.  But I digress…

It was the big weekend of celebrations for the occasion of my mum reaching the ripe old age of threescore years and ten.  We’d not long returned from a very enjoyable family meal out when my mobile started ringing and the suspicious announcement of ‘private number’ flashed up on the screen.  “Oh, I don’t know who it is, I’ll just ignore it”, I said casually.  “No, no, answer it!”, ordered my aunt, sounding slightly scandalised that I was prepared to ignore a call.  I reluctantly obeyed.  Upon being asked for confirmation of my name, I requested to know who was calling, in that slightly irritated tone of voice reserved for cold callers.  “Moorfields Eye Hospital, it’s about your appointment on Monday”, I was told, at which point my irritated tone swiftly changed to one of concern.  When I was told that my appointment had to be cancelled but that I could be offered another one in May, the concerned tone escalated to one of panic as I exclaimed, “But I was supposed to be seeing someone in April!”  Further conversation established that the appointment was being cancelled because there weren’t enough doctors, there was nobody else who could see me on that day, and there was no cancellation policy which may have enabled me to take the place of another patient.  The lady, whom I’m assuming had the unfortunate job of bearing similar bad news to large numbers of patients, was very calm and apologetic, and after checking a few more dates managed to find me an earlier appointment at the end of April.  Unfortunately, this didn’t prevent me from quite literally putting rather more than a dampener on my mum’s birthday celebrations by bursting noisily into tears as soon as I put the ‘phone down.

I should explain here that it wasn’t simply a case of having a routine appointment pushed back a few weeks which caused what some people will no doubt view as an extreme reaction.  For the couple of weeks leading up to an appointment, this is what it’s like: https://rdramblings.wordpress.com/2016/01/24/pre-appointment-paranoia/.  That’s on top of all the usual day-to-day RD paranoia and stress.  Last Monday night, I thought I saw a flash in my ‘good’ eye.  This caused me to lie awake for most of the night, periodically checking one eye then the other – staring into the darkness and moving my eyes around to see if I could see any flashes.  I realised that at certain times, I could see some of the effects of the weird flashes and lava lamp balls of light in my ‘good’ eye, even though I was pretty sure the effects were originating in my bad eye.

When morning came, I obsessively checked my visual field to ensure I hadn’t lost any more sight.  I spent that day in an exhausted fog of paranoia as I somehow managed to stumble through my working day, feeling dangerously on the verge of either bursting into tears or screaming until my lungs shattered.  Each time I went outside, I stared at the bright sky, following the floaters around in my ‘good’ eye and wondering whether there were more than usual.  There are so many, I can’t even count them and have no idea how I would know for certain if there were more.  I kept telling myself that it was okay, because I had my appointment at Moorfields the following Monday and they would check everything.  Although I’m always terrified about what the consultant may say at the check-ups, I also crave the reassurance of a positive appointment.  The news that things are stable in both eyes and surgery isn’t required at the moment has me skipping out of the hospital as if I’m on a high and equips me with the confidence to get through the next few weeks.  Having an appointment cancelled is akin to someone snatching my life-jacket off my back as I’m about to set off  in a small boat across rough sea.

I should emphasise here that I’m not blaming Moorfields for the cancellation.  Anyone in the UK who’s had the misfortune to spend any amount of time in an eye clinic will know how insanely busy it always is.  I don’t know whether the cancellation due to ‘not enough doctors’ is because of the junior doctors’ strike next week… I did ask this question but wasn’t given an answer.  If that is the reason, I can’t blame the junior doctors either.  I could make all sorts of political comments at this point, but I don’t think this is really the place.  So instead, when I attempt sleep tonight, rather than staring at my flashes and floaters and listening to my thumping heart, I’ll visualise throwing box after box of rotten eggs at a certain door in Downing Street.

 

4 thoughts on “Q: What’s more stressful than an impending eye appointment? …

  1. Pingback: Freak! (?) | RD Ramblings

  2. Pingback: Blind spot | RD Ramblings

  3. Linda Clarke

    Hi my friend told me about your blog and I am enjoying it so much.
    I have not suffered any way near as much as you but had a large horseshoe tear last year which tore a blood vessel and caused a large hemorrhage in my left eye.
    Surgey was successful but now my right eye is showing signs of PVD so I am getting worried. My left eye still has many large and small floaters and I get a tugging feeling in it.
    Could you please let me know which support group you belong to as it would be good to hear from others in similar situations.
    Best wishes
    Linda Ckarke

    Like

    Reply
    1. ejb117 Post author

      Hi Linda – thanks for your message. I always find it really encouraging when people tell me they enjoy the blog or that it’s helped them so thank you! I’m sorry to hear that you’re going through this nightmare too, although it’s great to hear that surgery on your left eye was successful. I’m guessing the hospital you’re under is monitoring the PVD? From what I know of this, in many cases the vitreous comes away from the retina without it causing a tear or hole so fingers crossed that this will be the case for you. These eye issues are hugely stressful though and I think only those who have been through it are able to fully understand. This is why I’ve found the support group so helpful! It’s a Facebook group, called ‘Retinal Detachment and/or Vitrectomy Support Group’ – the link is: https://m.facebook.com/groups/683163888410622?tsid=0.8183159376494586&source=typeahead. There are some incredibly supportive people on there and I know some of them have PVD. Wishing you all the best, and keep me posted on how you get on! 🙂

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

