Eye to Eye 2017: Bryn’s story

Bryn, the Welsh Sheepdog

Bryn, the Welsh Sheepdog

On 12 March 2017, my sister and I will once again be walking 14 miles from Moorfields Eye Hospital to the London Eye (via the scenic route) to raise money for sight-saving research.  This year, we’re taking part as a team, along with other people who have been affected by retinal detachment.  Cindy the labradoodle will also be joining us, and now we have a surprise last-minute addition to the team in the shape of my cousin’s dog, Bryn.  I thought it would be interesting to share the stories of my fellow team-members, and obviously I’m not about to discriminate against furry folk with more than two legs, so this week it’s Bryn’s turn. Although Bryn is a Welsh sheepdog, born and bred in North Wales, he was whisked off to Gloucestershire by my cousin as a small puppy and doesn’t actually bark in Welsh at all.  This is rather fortunate, as the Welsh branch of my family doesn’t own a dog and so it’s likely that I would have experienced problems in getting an accurate translation from Welsh Woof to English Woof and then into plain English.  But I digress.  Here’s Bryn to have his bark…

I was so thrilled when Susan finally said I could go with her on this massive walk around London that I legged it straight out into the garden for an excited wee and almost forgot to cock my leg!  Then I ran round and round in circles, woofing in delight at the top of my bark.  At laaaaaaaast!  She’d been going on and on and on about this huge walk for weeks – bought a rucksack and new shoes and everything!  All the time I kept barking to her, “Errr, hello!  Walks!  And what about me?”, but she seemed completely oblivious!  I mean, everyone knows that she’s a bit deaf, but that was just taking the biscuit!  (Mmmm, biscuits..!)  Anyway, FINALLY she remembered me and now I’m on the team!  Weheeeeeeeeeey!  It’s going to be such an adventure!  It’s not just any old walk on the Cotswold Common either… it’s London!  Bright lights, big sniffy!  😀

I’ve never been to London before, but it sounds as if it’ll be right up my smelly old alley.  Loads of lamp posts to wee against, parks to pooh in, and I can’t wait to cock my leg up the side of that big wheel!  Apparently that’s where the finishing line is, and we’ll get fed cake there.  I like cake.  In fact, I like anything edible.  Apart from that pack of butter I nicked off the kitchen side the other day – that didn’t go down so well.  I was soooooooo hungry though!  Quite frankly, I don’t think I get fed enough – I could easily eat waaaaaaaaaay more than I’m given.  Honestly, you’d think the war was still on by the miserable rations of Pedigree Chum I get.  But London’s going to have looooooads of food!  Just the thought of it is making me slobber all over my whiskers!  There’ll be lots of people in London, and people always drop food – they’re so careless!  They’re wasteful too; they never bother to pick it up and eat it once they’ve dropped it on the pavement.  It’s okay though – I can take care of that.  ‘Waste not, want not’ – that’s my motto!  I’ve heard all about this place in London called Trafalgar Square which is ram-packed full of pigeons to chase.  I can’t wait for that bit – it sounds so exciting!  The meaty looking pigeons had better fear for their feathers when I bound into town!

Of course, brother Wallis won’t be coming on the walk with us, because it’d be way too much for him.  He’s getting old now and he’s only got one eye, poor blighter.  He had to have the other one removed because of glaucoma.  So now he sometimes bumps into things, he’s crap at catching sticks, and he’s nowhere near as fast as me.  We’re doing the walk to help humans with eye problems, not dogs.  It seems a bit mean, cos dogs have eye problems too, but I’m not about to miss the opportunity of going on such an exciting adventure!  Weheeeeeeey, just think of all the people in London who’ll make a fuss of me… and all the FOOD!!!

If you’d like to sponsor Bryn and the rest of our team, you can do so at: https://www.justgiving.com/fundraising/rd-ramblers.  Alternatively, you can donate by texting: “ISEE66 £5” to 70070 (or whichever amount you prefer, of course).  All donations, no matter how small, are hugely appreciated.  Although Bryn has also requested donations of FOOD, this is unnecessary as he will be provided with adequate rations on the day.  Whether this will be sufficient for his requirements is another matter entirely, but I’m sure he can supplement them with lashings of podgy pigeon as we pass through Trafalgar Square.

Bryn and his 'brother', Wallis, enjoying some sea air

Bryn and his ‘brother’, Wallis, enjoying some sea air

3 thoughts on “Eye to Eye 2017: Bryn’s story

  1. Pingback: Eye to Eye 2017: walking in the rain | RD Ramblings

  2. Pingback: Eye to Eye 2017: walking in the rain | RD Ramblings

  3. Pingback: Eye to Eye 2017: the Gloucestershire alternative | RD Ramblings

Leave a Reply

